The Best Vampire Movies

Capture2 Like so many, I can’t get enough of Vampire / Werewolf / Zombie movies. I’ve already ranked the werewolf movies I’ve seen. Now it’s time to do so with vampire flicks! There are countless movies and TV shows I have missed. As always, you’re more than welcome to leave your suggestions in the comments.

The Best Ones

  • Nosferatu – one of the most frightening vampires I’ve ever seen on the screen. And all done without modern special effects.
  • Bram Stoker’s Drakula (1992) – This movie was brilliantly done. Gary Oldman played the part of Dracula perfectly. I still watch this film at least once a year to the chagrin of my girlfriend.
  • From Dusk Till Dawn – I never thought I would see George Clooney and Harvey Keitel in a vampire movie – but with Quentin Tarantino as the director you never know what to expect.
  • Let the Right One In – Another unique and fresh vampire movie.
  • The Lost Boys – Kiefer Sutherland plays a fantastic lead vampire in this 80s classic. And you get the two Corey’s on top of that!
  • The Night Flier – This is a rare Stephen King movie that few have seen. But it’s unique and a lot of fun.
  • Interview with a Vampire – Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt star in this adoption of an Anne Rice novel.
  • Daybreakers – Fantastic movie with a unique premise – “What happens when everyone on Earth is a vampire and they begin to run out of blood?”

The Good Ones

  • 30 Days of Night – Based on a comic book this movie delivers well done vampires in a unique setting – a remote Alaskan Town.
  • Fright Night – as a child of the eighty’s, I can’t help but enjoy horror films with a touch of 80s cheese. I love seeing Prince Humperdink (ala The Princess Bride) as the vampire.
  • Once Bitten – Kind of a silly eighties High School comedy starring Jim Carrey before he was Jim Carrey.
  • Twilight – I know you purists will be outraged I’m including this movie, but what the heck; I like vampires and I like teenage high school angst movies.
  • Underworld (I, II, & III) – A solid vampire vs. werewolf series.
  • Vamp (1986) – A fun vampire flick with more 80s cheese.
  • Vampires – A fun movie with James Woods as a vampire hunter.
  • Dark Shadows (TV Series) – I have only seen the 1991 remake of this classic series. It’s easy to get hooked on the DVD set – unfortunately there are only 12 episodes.
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer – Again, any child of the 80s enjoyed this movie while growing up. Every fan of 90210 watched just to see Luke Perry. And what ever happened to Kristy Swanson? Oh, Paul Reubens (Pee Wee Herman) plays the main vampire henchmen. How can you beat that?

The Okay Ones

  • Fright Night 2 – The sequel to the original Fright Night, if this movie wasn’t quite as good as the first but I still enjoyed it.
  • From Dusk Till Dawn 3 – I debated whether to put this under the good or the okay – in the end it landed here. Still an enjoyable movie though.
  • The Lost Boys II
  • Embrace of the Vampire – I debated whether or not to put this one in the bad category but in the end I rounded up. This film stars Alyssa Milano. I liked her in “Who’s the Boss”, so I’ll give the movie at least a few points.
  • Mr. Vampire – Vampire enthusiasts are going to disagree with me on this one. I’ve seen the first part of this movie but just couldn’t get into it. Perhaps the fact that there were no English subtitles has something to do with it. If I could find a version with subtitles, pop some popcorn and open a can of coke, I might try and sit back and enjoy this fan favorite.
  • Vampires: The Turning – This movie is fine/okay/all right. The acting was so-so – but who cares, it’s a vampire flick. Oh, apparently the vampires in Thailand know Kung fu.
  • Blade – I know a lot of guys who enjoyed this flick. I’ve just never been into the whole Chuck Norris / Steven Segal / Jean-Claude Van Damme cheesy Kung fu material.

The Bad Ones

  • Bloodrayne – Ugh. Never played the game either.
  • Vampire’s Kiss – This stars Nicolas Cage and that’s all I could figure out about it
  • Queen of the Damned – Meh, it was so-so. All I remember about it was meh.

Movies Still In My Queue

  • From Dusk Till Dawn 2
  • Vampires – Los Muertos
  • Dracula 2000
Leave a Reply

